What are the Mandatory Costs for a DUI in Colorado?
If you get a DUI or DWAI in Colorado and you are found guilty or plead guilty, you are going to face a whole lot of costs.
These mandatory costs are in addition to fines that the Court will impose.
Even if the Court goes easy on the fines, the mandatory Court costs will put a significant dent in your wallet.
The judge really cannot waive these costs.
Colorado’s DUI sentencing law is found at C.R.S. 42-4-1307.
The majority of the DUI sentencing law deals with the imposition of jail, probation and fines.
When you get down to the lower end of this sentencing statute, there are a whole host of costs that have to be imposed. If you would like to look at this sentencing statute yourself to see just what costs are involved, you should start at C.R.S. 42-4-1307(10).
Drunk Driving Offenders will face the following mandatory costs, surcharges or fees. These fees may vary depending upon your judge. Crime Victim Assistance Fund (VAF) cost – usually about $125 Persistent Drunk Driving Fund (PDD) – anywhere from $100 – $500 Colorado Traumatic Brain Injury Fund – $20 Rural Area Substance Abuse Problems Fund – $1 to $10 Drunk Driving Data-Analysis Surcharge – $2 MADD Victim Impact Panel fee – about $50 Drug -Alcohol Evaluation – about $200 Uniform Public Service costs – up to $120 Law Enforcement Assistance Fund to the State – $75 Law Enforcement Assistance Fund to the County – $15.
Restitution – In addition to any fines and any fees, costs or surcharges, a drunk driver may have to pay restitution to help any injured person recover for their losses or for property damage.
Charged with a DUI or a DUI call Peter Albani at (303) 753-0900 Charged with Vehicular Homicide or Vehicular Assault Call Peter Albani at (303) 753-0900 I can help you defend your case.