Marijuana possession has not been considered a crime in Colorado as long as it involved two ounces or less of marijuana. However, possession larger amounts of the drug or illegally trafficking the drug remains illegal. This post will outline when marijuana possession is illegal.
Colorado’s marijuana laws
If a person in Colorado possesses more than two ounces of the drug it is a petty offense and will result in a $100 fine. If a person in Colorado posses between two to six ounces of the drug it could lead to a sentence of up to 12 months in prison and/or a $700 fine. If a person in Colorado possesses between six to 12 ounces of marijuana it could lead to a jail sentence of six to 18 months and/or a $5,000 fine. Finally, a person in possession of more than 12 ounces could incur a felony resulting sentence of one to two years in prison and a $100,000 fine.
Will Colorado’s marijuana limits be increased?
Recently Governor Polis signed a bill that increases how much marijuana an adult can legally possess. Prior to this law a person could not possess more than one ounce of the drug. Now adults over age 21 can possess up to two ounces of marijuana. Meanwhile, the possession of marijuana by a person under age 21 remains illegal. It is hoped that this change will reduce the administrative burden associated with those who have past marijuana possession convictions on their record.
Learn more about drug crimes in Colorado
While marijuana possession has been essentially decriminalized in Colorado, if you possess large amounts of the drug you may face criminal charges. This post is for educational purposes only and does not contain legal advice. Our firm’s webpage on drug possession may be a useful resource for those who want more information on this topic.